top of page
  • Writer's picturedrnaghmeh

Why Isn't Washing Produce With Water Enough?

Happy sunday , hope all of you are safe and well. The process of washing produce the proper way, has always been on my mind, even before the Covid-19 pandemic.

Why do we wash our fruits and vegetables :

1- Remove contaminants from food, just as you would wash your hands

2- There are too many questionable substances on fruits and vegetables

3- Many oil-based chemicals used on produce are water resistant

But, washing with water isn't enough because :


1- almost 1,000 of chemicals used for growing fruits and vegetables are oil based

2- Less than 1% of produce from overseas is inspected

3- Imported produce from other countries use chemicals that are banned in the USA

Lots of people ask do I need to wash organic produce : Absolutely, drifts from spraying on nearby conventional farms, the use of various organic fertilizers, and possible mislabeling are potential hazards.

There are many methods and products out there to use to wash produce. Some people use apple cider vinegar with essential oil to wash fruits and vegetables.

As I was looking and searching different products, I came across a product by " Purely Essential" which is an all natural product that is used to wash produce. I have noticed when I use it , rinses pretty clean, leaves behind no after-taste or sticky residues. Again, you can use any methods you like to wash your produce, and this product is only a suggestion. It is a product that I found on Amazon, and I have been using myself, this is not by any means an AD.

My message here is that there are lots of toxic pesticides and herbicides that are used in agricultural process, and washing with water is clearly not enough.

I think its a great timing not just because of the pandemic, but for healthy eating moving forward to use a product that will remove more toxins from our produce than water alone.

Stay safe and Stay healthy. Dr. Naghmeh

The content of my page is for Educational/Informational purposes only. Nothing should be constructed as Medical Advise.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page